Surry Business

For and about business in Surry County, N.C., including Dobson, Elkin, Lowgap, Pilot Mountain and Mount Airy

Surry Business random header image

Jan. 24 is deadline for seeking disaster loans

December 27th, 2007 · No Comments

Jan. 24 is the filing deadline for federal economic injury disaster loans available through the U.S. Small Business  Administration to small businesses in Surry County who suffered financial losses as a direct result of abnormally low temperatures and freezing conditions April 6-9, 2007.

The Small Business Administration’s disaster declaration was issued as a result of a similar action taken by the Secretary of Agriculture to help farmers and ranchers recover from this disaster. The SBA is making its Economic Injury Disaster Loans available to farm-related and nonfarm-related small business concerns and small agricultural cooperatives.

Eligible small businesses in almost all North Carolina counties (the exceptions are Cherokee, Clay, Currituck, Graham, Granville, Pamlico and Vance counties) may qualify for loans up to $1.5 million. These loans are available at a 4 percent interest rate with loan terms up to 30 years. The SBA determines eligibility for the program based on the size and type of business and its financial resources. Loan amounts and terms are set by the SBA and are based upon each applicant’s financial condition.

Interested business owners should contact the SBA’s Customer Service Center by calling 1-800-659-2955 (for the hearing-impaired 1-800-877-8339) Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 9 p.m. (EST).

Loan applications can be downloaded from Completed applications should be mailed to: U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX 76155.

For more information about the SBA’s Disaster Loan Programs, visit the agency’s website at

Tags: Businesses

0 responses so far ↓

  • There are no comments yet...Kick things off by filling out the form below.

Leave a Comment